top of page

Happy Black History Month 2021


My African Ancestors left songs, which I sang as a child and continue to. My dear friend here reminded me of this childhood song we learnt in Guyana. As we recline in quarantine, we are reassured by these songs. They keep us rooted. I have many collections of African folk songs throughout the Caribbean. I treasure this old album - A 1982 recordings, from the Guyana United Apostolic Mystical Council and St. Matthews Apostolic Mission, which represents the African communities of Guyana. Religious rituals, marriage ceremonies, and ancestor worship are conveyed in traditional song, dance and drumming.

Comments


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Instagram Social Icon
bottom of page